Precious metals

Silver:

Silver is a relatively ductile and very malleable metal, valued for its unique white glow.

Jewelry and silverware account for 7700 tonnes a year of the commerce. Silver’s good workability make it ideal for design work, and often means it is used to make diversified jewelry for instance; pendants, bracelets and necklaces. Silver is often alloyed with small amounts of copper to improve its mechanical properties. It is used as the gold alloy, or plating (3 to 5 microns thick for jewelery, 20 to 30 microns for silver jewels).

Gold:

This is mixed with one or more other metals to increase its rigidity, and can have white shades (white gold) or red shades (red gold), depending on the type of alloy that is used (silver, copper). The standard proportions vary from one country to another, for example, the United States and Greece are using the gold called "14K", containing 585/1 000 gold. In France, "when it comes to products containing gold, platinum, silver or palladium, the price tag must be accompanied by an indication of the precious metal used and its title expressed in thousandths "; above, a distinction was made between "gold" [18K (750/1, 000) or more] and 'gold alloy' [less than 18K (750/1, 000)].

For 18 carat gold:

* Yellow gold is in principle consisting of 75% gold, 12.5% silver and 12.5% copper.

* Rose gold is normally composed of 75% gold, 20% copper and 5% silver.

* White gold usually contains 75% gold, silver, copper and sometimes palladium.

* White gold jewelry is a term often used to refer to white gold. In France and Europe, nickel (which came once in its composition) it is now banned because it is a source of allergies. Gold “blancest” that is therefore covered with a thin layer of rhodium (gold "Rhodium"), which disappears with time, restoring a gray-yellow to gold (it is usually possible to make a new layer of rhodium in a jeweler for a a small amount of money).

* Blue Gold is an alloy of gold and iron. Using heat treatment the iron atoms appears on the surface of metal and gives it its azure oxide.

Platinum:

Very popular in jewelry, it is a chemical element with the symbol Pt.

It is a transition metal that is hard, malleable, ductile, rare and precious, with a gray-white color. Platinum is a noble metal resistant to corrosion, and it is often found associated with certain ores of copper or nickel, and more rarely in a native deposits (including South Africa).

Retour >>

Les métaux précieux

L'argent:

L’argent est un métal relativement ductile et très malléable, apprécié pour son éclat blanc particulier.

La bijouterie et l’argenterie engloutissent 7700 tonnes. L’argent est le métal utilisé pour fabriquer des bijoux (pendentifs, bracelets, colliers…). Tout ceci est possible, car l’argent possède une propriété qui permet de concevoir ces œuvres : sa bonne malléabilité. L’argent est souvent allié à de faibles quantités de cuivre pour renforcer ses caractéristiques mécaniques. On l’utilise aussi allié à l’or, ou en plaquage (de 3 à 5 microns d’épaisseur pour la bijouterie, de 20 à 30 microns pour l’argenterie).

L'or:

C'est un mélange d'un ou plusieurs autres métaux pour augmenter sa rigidité. Il peut présenter des teintes blanches (or blanc) ou rouges (or rouge) selon le type d'alliage qui le constitue (argent, cuivre). Le standard des proportions varie d'un pays à l'autre, les États-Unis ou la Grèce utilisant l'or dit « à 14 carats », contenant 585/1 000 d'or. En France, « lorsqu'il s'agit de produits contenant de l'or, du platine, de l'argent ou du palladium, l'indication du prix doit être accompagnée de l'indication du métal précieux utilisé et de son titre exprimé en millièmes »; précédemment, une distinction était faite entre « or » [18 carats (750/1 000) ou plus] et « alliage d’or » [moins de 18 carats (750/1 000)].

Pour de l'or 18 carats:

*l’or jaune est en principe constitué de 75 % d'or, de 12,5 % d'argent et de 12,5 % de cuivre.

*l’or rose est normalement composé de 75 % d'or, de 20 % de cuivre et de 5 % d'argent.

*l’or gris comporte habituellement 75 % d'or, de l'argent, du cuivre et parfois du palladium.

*l'or blanc de joaillerie est un terme souvent utilisé pour parler de l'or gris. En France et en Europe, le nickel (qui entrait autrefois dans sa composition) est maintenant interdit, car source d'allergies. L'or blanc est donc recouvert d'une fine couche de rhodium (or « rhodié »), qui disparaît avec le temps, redonnant une couleur gris-jaune à l'or (il est en général possible de faire un nouveau bain de rhodium chez un bijoutier, pour quelques dizaines d'euros).

*l'or bleu est un alliage d'or et de fer. Un traitement thermique oxyde les atomes de fer à la surface du métal et lui donne sa couleur azur.

Le platine:

Très apprécié en joaillerie, c'est un élément chimique, le symbole est Pt. C'est un métal de transition dur, malléable, ductile, rare et précieux, de couleur gris-blanc. Le platine est un métal noble résistant à la corrosion, et on le trouve souvent associé à certains minerais de cuivre ou de nickel, et plus rarement sous forme de dépôts natifs (en Afrique du Sud notamment).

Retour >>